Game Design – Week 8 – Logic, Flowcharts, and Coding

Rootkit code
“Rootkit code” by Christiaan Colen is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

When asked the most important thing I should teach my students, the MIT student I was interviewing simply stated , ‘ teach them logic.’ – Mr. Le Duc

SUMMARY

This week was fairly uneventful and went well for me.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

  • I have just completed the overview lesson for the javascript course.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image from https://monkeyblogmonkeydo.com/2010/07/19/so-duh-pop-quiz-classic-video-game-flowchart-edition/
  • mystery
  • dystopia
  • forgotten
  • ruin
  • farming
  • tycoon

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • is there an open space?
  • yes, move.
  • no, is there an interactive object?
  • yes, pick up the object.
  • no, is there a weapon?
  • yes, take damage
  • no, troubleshoot

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

can you make it so the game prioritizes how to run its own code?

STUDIO (GAME DESIGN)

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

I figured out how to make two lines with a single equation by multiplying the variable an one side and making them equal a set value.

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *